Automatic Fail?

Structural Layout Vignette and Multiple Choice

Automatic Fail?

Postby brucevarughese1989 » Wed Dec 20, 2017 3:45 pm

I drew the column to the upper floor on the upper floor only, i didn't show it continue down to the first floor. Is that an automatic fail?!
brucevarughese1989
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: Automatic Fail?

Postby brucevarughese1989 » Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:04 pm

I noticed Sajjad in an earlier thread made the same mistake, no one seemed to catch it. I hope it's not an automatic fail! :(
brucevarughese1989
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: Automatic Fail?

Postby Coach » Wed Dec 20, 2017 11:11 pm

I'm afraid that's one of the worst errors you can make.
User avatar
Coach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 13202
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 am

Re: Automatic Fail?

Postby winginging » Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:36 am

Coach, do I need to have columns at the first floor continue to the 2nd floor? I have colomns that I put it at first floor to support the beam and joist at 1st floor (also located at building corners).
winginging
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 6:39 pm

Re: Automatic Fail?

Postby Coach » Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:09 pm

winginging wrote:Coach, do I need to have columns at the first floor continue to the 2nd floor?

How does that make any sense if there's nothing to support at the upper level?
User avatar
Coach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 13202
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 am

Re: Automatic Fail?

Postby winginging » Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:19 am

I was not clear. What I mean is if I have a column (red arrow one) on the 1st floor at the building corner, should I have it at the same location on the 2nd floor?
I checked Jenny's note says put columns at every building corners, but I am not sure what's the reason. I failed miserably at the Vignette. I am trying to find out what did i do wrong. The other thing I can think about is I drew joist span at 30'8" (not likely the reason), or I drew beam continuously. :geek:

Thanks ahead.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
winginging
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 6:39 pm

Re: Automatic Fail?

Postby Coach » Wed Jan 03, 2018 3:30 am

winginging wrote:I was not clear. What I mean is if I have a column (red arrow one) on the 1st floor at the building corner, should I have it at the same location on the 2nd floor?

No, but that's where the upper column should be rather than at the middle of shop 2.

I checked Jenny's note says put columns at every building corners, but I am not sure what's the reason.

That's a dangerous generality. You should understand why you need columns.
User avatar
Coach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 13202
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 am

Re: Automatic Fail?

Postby hhallancia » Fri Jan 05, 2018 8:45 am

I was told that all columns should be continuous from second story down to ground.
upper columns should not sit on any beams as you have in shop 2.
keep trying, good luck
hhallancia
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2016 9:41 am

Re: Automatic Fail?

Postby appletree » Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:26 am

you need the column to break up the beam length, or the beam span is too long. do the upper floor first...and then you take the columns down...and see if you need additional columns at the first floor for beam span at that level. column that is needed at upper floor CANNOT rest on a beam below, it needs to continue down to the ground.
appletree
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 1:55 pm


Return to SS - STRUCTURAL SYSTEMS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron