PASSED & DONE with ARE

Structural Layout Vignette and Multiple Choice

PASSED & DONE with ARE

Postby lule99 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 3:54 pm

Got my result in less than 1 week!
So happy that I finished with ARE!!!! Weird that I do not have to study anymore and feel very relieved...Only failed site one time and the rest I passed in the first try. I am not a good example since I studied a lot and for long hours (or maybe I am a good example! however you want to think about it :D) ... Since English is my second language, which I learned way in my thirties, these exams were particularly challenging for me. I took it like I was doing a masters!
What I studied for this specific exam;
1- Kapplan. Easier than Ballast. Some mistakes but nevertheless I recommend it.
2-Ballast. More dense. Calculations more difficult. If you understand it you can solve whatever they throw at you.
3-Mike's notes.
4-Building at risk. Seismic and wind.
5-FEMA 454
6-FEMA 749
7-All spectacle videos I could find on you tube.
8- ArchiFlash cards.
9-Kapplan question and answers. Did 260 question out of the 500.
10-ARE Structural Systems, Sample problems and Practice exam.
11-Dorf and NCARB guidelines (for vignette).
12- Static and Strength of Materials. Jensen/Chenoweth. This is an old book but really help me with the static part...
13-Jenny's notes, read some pages but I wish I had time to read it completely!
14-Dilip Khatri videos, very good for statics!
I did not take Thaddeus or any other payed course... but I ended up paying for it anyway with tons of stress, time and frustration trying to figure things by myself. So definitely if I could start over, I will definitively do the Thaddeus course.
In general I could say that I watched any video I could find on you tube on lateral systems cause I considered is not that well covered on Ballast or Kapplan... In reality I used you tube extensively for any subject that I did not understand well.