Passed !!!

Structural Layout Vignette and Multiple Choice

Passed !!!

Postby minimal animal » Fri Nov 08, 2013 8:04 am

I just found out I passed SS. What a relief. This exam was a bitch to study for. I studied for about a month... an hour each morning before going to work, and then 4-5 hours per day on the weekends. I took three days off before the exam date to take care of the last minute panic state, and that helped.

Here are my study references:

Kaplan 4.0
: I did not have Kaplan 500, so I stuck to the exams in the book and the final exam at the end of the book. I found quite a few errors in the Kaplan material, but did not let that demoralize me. There is enough about the ARE to get frustrated about, to add one more thing to that long list. The old adage holds true, "Trust but Verify"
Ballast 4.0 - only to read more on material that I felt was inadequately referenced in Kaplan
Building Structures Illustrated by Francis Ching. This is a great book to begin studying for each part. I started by reading this book to get a visual understanding of concepts, and then moved on to Kaplan, Ballast and the rest. This book is a MUST HAVE for this exam.
Architect's Studio Companion. I finished each chapter of Kaplan by flipping through this book, to see if I could test myself on the concepts. Again, a great book to have on your desk in general.
FEMA Documents Chapters 4,5,8,9.
AREndurance study guide. This was GREAT for last minute reading before the actual exam. http://arendurance.wordpress.com/study-guides/
NCARB Exam Guide.
Khatri International videos. This was INVALUABLE. Here's the link: http://www.khatrinternational.com/AIAexam.html#
AREForum's links: http://www.areforum.org/up/GeneralStructures/