just 1-1/2 years of Internship- Is it feasible???

Structural Layout Vignette and Multiple Choice

just 1-1/2 years of Internship- Is it feasible???

Postby archstudent2012 » Mon Oct 21, 2013 12:44 pm

Hi,I just completed 1900 hrs of IDP which made me eligible to take ARE exams. I am thinking about taking Structures, but I am having a dilemma because I do not have that much working experience. I graduated in May of 2012. Should I wait and continue on gaining more internship, or studying for this exam using Kaplan and Ballast will suffice? Please let me know your thoughts.
archstudent2012

Re: just 1-1/2 years of Internship- Is it feasible???

Postby ckruse » Mon Oct 21, 2013 1:38 pm

I'd say go for it - especially if you have the time to study now before life gets in the way as it inevitably does. I started the AREs last year with only 1 yr of experience and took an exam every 2 months and I'm 6 for 6 and waiting on results for #7. Real world experience has had very limit impact on my exams - especially for SS. I basically did the Kaplan/Ballast route with web sites/supplemental material from the forum and I found that to be sufficient.

Everyone has their preference and strengths, but FWIW I roughly did the "easy to hard" route of SD, CDS, PPP, SPD, BDCS, SS, BS. So soon out of school, though, SS might be good to start since it's relatively fresh in your mind. Also know that it can take a month or 2 just to get approval from your state board to start taking the ARE, so you could at least start there if you haven't yet. Good luck.
ckruse

Postby tinaruiz » Mon Oct 21, 2013 2:01 pm