Passed! + a warning for those about to take PPP

Site Zoning Vignette and Multiple Choice

Passed! + a warning for those about to take PPP

Postby jenabobena » Fri Jun 22, 2018 10:39 am

I just found out I passed PPP (I took it on June 11), and cried tears of joy at my desk at work. This was only my 2nd exam, and felt way more daunting than CDS. I gained 8 lbs in the 5 weeks I studied for this exam -- I was SO STRESSED. BUT I am here to report that it can be done!!

There were the typical WTF (5 total) questions on my exam about things I had never even heard of, and I marked 30 questions for review. During the Vignette, the screen at the top of my computer was flashing, there was major lag, and my cursor kept changing into an hourglass. I even had two cursors at one point. I alerted the testing facility and they did what they could (restarted the computer) but nothing helped. I learned to tune it out. I contact NCARB after, and they were less than helpful. Since then, I've seen many others post about the SAME experience and lack of help from NCARB. Apparently it is some kind of problem with the software due to the number of people taking exams and the transition to 5.0.

So, please just be forewarned that this may happen to you, and take a deep breath and try not to let it get to you! I practiced the vignette on really slow internet (using the in-browser vignette software from NCARB) and it had a lot of lag.. so I think that helped me stay calm and not get frustrated, because that is how I had been practicing.

What I used to study:

- Read all of Kaplan and took the practice exams over and over again. **** The most helpful!
- Read all of the relevant chapters in AHPP (Programming, Risk Management, Project Management, Project Delivery, Scheduling, Sustainable Design, Code). I still have my student copy from undergrad in 2005, so I just used that version.
- Caroline's Notes
- Skimmed Problem Seeking