Ugh fail

Site Zoning Vignette and Multiple Choice

Ugh fail

Postby JORDANARE » Fri May 12, 2017 1:01 am

Got my result for PPP this afternoon, and it's a fail. My story with PPP is as follows:

1st attempt end of FEB, screen went blank exited myself out by accident right before the vignette. However,I got my multiple choice back and got one level 2 in in Codes, the smallest section- 1 in everything else. Tried to talk to NCARB and no luck. I passed SPD two days later, and figued I only needed two weeks to prepare. It was the least I studied, but I felt adequately prepared for the exam. This one was like taking an entirely different exam from the first. The first one seemed to be pulled from all of the common sources (Abstract from Pena, some proj. management, Ballast, designer hacks etc.)

The one I recently took could not have been studied for without a very deep understanding of project management, design sequence, and programming. Questions from contract docs that were obscure and would not be on the recommended list to cover, very specific questions on building efficiency that went well beyond the basics, and a number of questions with two actual correct answers (meaning after scouring the web for hours, many of the questions actually had two answers that easily could have been correct).

That said, I am really looking for advice with this exam since it's such a crapshoot.

I really had hoped to finish the exams this year. If I fail it again, I won't be able to take it for 8-9 more months.

Does anyone have any recommendations in this scenario? Should I stick with 4.0 and start doing other exams? Take PPP in July, or wait? I suppose it doesn't help that the next one feels like high stakes.

On a side note, it does seem like a better understanding of PPP is the result of taking multiple other exams first, helping to sequence things together, so I'm wondering if that's the best option.

Thanks!
JORDANARE

Re: Ugh fail

Postby vrcat25 » Fri May 12, 2017 10:17 am