PDD Pass (and finally Done!) Here's What I Did.

PDD Pass (and finally Done!) Here's What I Did.

Postby choskison » Wed Feb 26, 2020 8:49 am

Back in November, I took and failed PDD for the first time. On Monday, I retook PDD and PASSED! No more AREs for me!! To say I am relieved is the understatement of the century. I have major test anxiety, so I am so proud of myself for completing these exams!

During my first round of studying, I studied for 7 weeks (1 section/week and then a review week). I covered so much material that I really thought my brain was going to explode. This exam has a monster mountain of information. Repetition and review periods are super important for this exam. The only thing I did differently on my second try was add in the Hyperfine Course, as well as thoroughly studied Fundamentals of Construction (FBC). The Hyperfine course was incredibly helpful this round to help me utilize the learned material in practical ways.

Below is a detailed approach for how I studied for PPD. Remember, what worked for me, may not work for you. Best of luck!

Study Schedule

•Study duration – 13 weeks TOTAL. First take, I studied 7 weeks. Retake, I studied 6 weeks.
•Weekdays, Monday-Friday, 2-3 hours/day (1 hour during lunch, 1-2 hours after work)
•Weekends, 4-6 hours/day, review and practice exams
•Take the exam on a Monday so you don’t have work on your mind. Really helpful to have two full days before the exam and not have the worries of emails and getting backgrounds out to consultants right before you take the exam. DO NOT take the exams on Friday if you can help it. Your mind will be all over the place.

During the exam

•When I first sit down, I write down any equations/notes I think I might need to reference. I also look at what sources I have provided on the case studies. Sometimes questions can be answered with help from the provided sources.