Just took PDD

Just took PDD

Postby cloudyy » Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:18 pm

I just took PDD earlier today. I found that it was pretty solidly SS (my weakest point) with some BS, and CD-level questions relating to both of those. There were a lot of multi-answer questions (fill-in-the-blanks, hotspots, drag-and-drops, 'pick three'). The test itself was still unbelievably laggy which is especially annoying at the case studies, it's really almost discouraging to use them. Still, I wouldn't expect NCARB to fix this because why would they.

I didn't really know what to study beforehand, and I had heard it was similar to PPD, so I studied far and wide. I wish I had been a bit more focused and studied some certain things more in-depth, but I didn't really know that while preparing--the NCARB prep material is pretty vague. It was similar to but more specific than PPD; there were some big SS topics which I felt didn't even get covered at all, but instead PDD (or my version at least) seemed to pick a couple of systems/topics and go deeper than I had expected. So anyway I'm happy I get the free re-test because I'm probably going to need it.
cloudyy

Re: Just took PDD

Postby odessaboots » Tue Jan 31, 2017 5:05 pm

Would you say that the structural topics covered required the use of the complex equations, or generally more concepts regarding structures? I guess without be too specific, which would you have wished you studied more?

I am taking it in a couple of weeks, have studied the structures material broadly, and can do the basics like solve for reactions, resolve trusses, etc.. but some of the more complex calcs get tricky...
odessaboots

Postby cloudyy » Tue Jan 31, 2017 7:07 pm