PPD Fail - First Attempt

PPD Fail - First Attempt

Postby ThomKat » Mon Jun 10, 2019 6:02 am

I took PPD this past Saturday for the first time and failed. I previously passed CDS, SPD and PPP in 4.0 and now I’m trying to knock out PPD and PDD.
For study material I used:
Building Construction Illustrated – read twice
Architects Studio Companion – read twice
International Building Code
Hyperfine (including Karin’s notes) – did most of the practice questions twice
Pluralsight Courses
Jenny’s Notes for 4.0 SS and BS
Designer Hacks Practice Exams – used multiple times
FEMA 454 chapters 4, 5 & 8
Buildings at Risk: Wind Design Basics for Practicing Architects
Buildings at Risk: Seismic Design Basics for Practicing Architects
MEEB – I skimmed the important chapters (there is a chart floating around on here with which chapters are most relevant)
*I read all the above, took notes and made some flashcards

I’m at a loss. I studied concepts, tried not to get too much into the nitty gritty, and used multiple resources to make sure I was getting a wide range of information. I felt like very little of the above material actually showed up on the exam. It was almost like I studied for a completely different exam! I’m not playing the blame game here. I clearly failed in two sections (Building Systems, Materials and Assemblies + Project Integration of Program Systems) and it’s all on me. I guess I’m just surprised that the exam content was not at all what I was expecting. In the 4.0 exams, I always felt like the exam content was aligned with what I studied. Obviously, I need to regroup and attack these 5.0 exams differently.