Structural X-Bracing

Structural X-Bracing

Postby oring1981 » Sun Mar 10, 2019 3:56 pm

Hello All-

I am retaking PPD AGAIN in a week and I have been studying for a good three months and I am still looking for some good examples of where to find X-Bracing placement. I would really use any ones help on this. The only place someone has told me to look is in Kaplan and I have yet to find anything in their. Please Help.
oring1981

Re: Structural X-Bracing

Postby Anob » Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:35 am

I found good examples in “Building Structures” by Ambrose (there’s a free pdf floating around)
and “Statics Strength and Mateirals”.
Anob

Postby tua97770 » Mon Mar 11, 2019 7:37 pm

Anob wrote:I found good examples in “Building Structures” by Ambrose (there’s a free pdf floating around)
and “Statics Strength and Mateirals”.

I am testing this week, do you know which chapter I can find "x" bracing topics in Ambrose?

Thanks!
tua97770

Postby sofiasalvat » Wed Mar 27, 2019 1:36 pm

Did you find any good references? Looking for guidance on this as well.
sofiasalvat

Postby kranjerj » Sun Mar 31, 2019 3:15 pm

Not sure if this is exactly what you're looking for but I've found the FEMA earthquake pdf to be pretty good (chapters 4, 5, & 7)
https://www.fema.gov/media-library-data ... mplete.pdf

The chapters aren't terrible to skim. lots of diagrams.
kranjerj

Postby architectco » Mon Apr 01, 2019 4:37 am

from what i understand the bracing is for lateral stability of the building and is generally centrally located in steel frame walls, on two opposing walls and stacked directly on top of each other from first floor to top floor.

although for smaller buildings say one floor ideally should be centrally located but i am not completely sure and should be looked up may be located a-centrally
architectco

Postby Anob » Mon Apr 01, 2019 6:11 am