Passed First Try! First 5.0 exam (transitioned)

Passed First Try! First 5.0 exam (transitioned)

Postby kungpowchick » Thu May 03, 2018 8:50 am

I was really nervous about this exam going in. It was my first 5.0 exam after several years of studying and working on 4.0 materials. Everyone seems to have studied something different, and I didn't find any equivalent practice exams to the 4.0 ones. I wanted to share not only my materials, but my study practice. I failed several 4.0 exams, but once I started constructive note-taking and review sessions, I've passed each exam on the first try. One more, and I can't wait to have this ARE weight off of my shoulders.

Experience:
I have 2 years experience specifically working on renovations and doing technical aspects of design and CA. Before this I worked for 1.5 years as a front-end designer and programmer. Experience helped supplement my studying, but I also feel like a better worker because of what I studied for PPD (I never felt this way with 4.0)

Time Spent:
Like I said, I was scared, so I started studying 8 weeks before my exam date. This was too long in hind site, by the week before the exam I was burnt out and lapsing (and causing more stress!). 6 weeks is probably the max I would do again. I was strict with myself, and dedicated at least 45 min - 2 hour per weekday, and a cumulative 6-8 hours on weekends. I also dabbled in PDD material because I'm taking it in 2.5 weeks.

With all of this, I was way over-prepared for PPD. I finished my first run-though of the exam with 2.5 hours on the clock, and then used that time to go through the entire exam again before leaving.