PPD First Time Pass and Strategy

PPD First Time Pass and Strategy

Postby tarynbone » Sat Oct 14, 2017 10:37 pm

I woke up this morning to a PASS after taking my first 5.0 exam yesterday and since I use this forum pretty heavily to learn everyone else's study strategies, I wanted to give back by offering my study and testing strategy for anyone who might be interested.

I studied for 6 weeks, 1-2 hours a day weekdays, taking practice exams/quizzes on the weekends.
-Jenny's Notes BS and Structures
-Kaplan BS quizzes and Exam
-Kaplan Structures Exam
-Building Construction Illustrated - cover to cover
-MEEP - intended to read a lot more from this but only made it through maybe 5-6 chapters
-Designer Hacks PPD quizzes
-Taking my own notes and making flash cards of key terms
And of course coming from passes on PPP, CDS, SPD, so "knowing" all that material.

I also want to add that I'm not one of these first time passers. I failed CDS and SPD the first times. So I am over the moon about passing this exam on my first try.

For the exam itself, I started by skipping directly to the case studies. I had two. I spent about 1.5 hours doing those, then began from the top with the normal questions. I took my break when I had 2 hours left. Came back and powered through the rest of the questions. Then I had a whole hour remaining to go back to the few questions I had marked and then took my time going through the case studies again, changing a few answers because I had more time to think them through. I finished the exam with over 30 minutes left. I just can't sit there re-reading questions and second guessing myself. Time has never been an issue for me with these exams, I always have extra time when I sign off.