bad PPD exeprience

bad PPD exeprience

Postby kerzzo » Thu Jul 27, 2017 10:39 am

Hello all, finally got the bad news on this exam. The result does not show the 7 weeks I spent going through all the materials and taking practice quizzes and exams.

Here is what I studied the most:

- Brighwood 5.0 front to back --took all the quizzes, did not score anything less than 70%
-Nalsa Archiflash(selected sections pertaining the subjects mentioned in NCARB)
- Sun Wind and Light-all the diagrams and strategies for passive design
-Grant Videos on building construction all chapters
-Arch graphic standards--chapters on foundation assemblies for steel , concrete and planning, as well as building systems
-building construction illustrated- everything on foundations, materials, site, environmental
-Architect's companion--all of the good stuff in there

I spent about 3-4 hours every day of the week on studying and weekends between 5-6 hours all to run into this problem and every minute possible on the train reading definitions and taking quizlet type of exams and flashcards including study-blue diagrams

My experience---

-i showed up extra early to prometric--pretty awake and alert and fully prepared
- the first question was a WTF , i kept going
-finished all the MCs with 1.75 hrs left to complete the two case studies
-case studies made me rush as the material appeared incomplete based on the questions they were asking even if the formula was provided
- many WTF questions even on the case studies
-guessed probably 1/3 of them based on common sense

surprises? well besides the obvious, a lot of ambiguous lighting fixture selection questions---similar to what a CID exam would ask---i thought it was useless--- the case studies did not test for the life safety of the public at all--it was more of an I-trick-you set-up