You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Building Section Vignette and Multiple Choice

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby Coach » Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:30 pm

lixo wrote:Hi,
I couldn't find an answer for this. Is there a place where I can download the 3.1 version of the software so I can practice alt vignettes? I got the dwg files from the previous post (thanks!) but no software to run them.


Use the 4.0 software. Replace the existing files with the alt files.
User avatar
Coach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12121
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 am

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby lettej2 » Tue Feb 02, 2016 7:50 am

Hello, can someone please post two clean screen shots of the 3.1 Vignette 1st floor plan & 2nd floor plan (with everything turned on) for CDS - thank you (or direct me to one if someone already made this available).
lettej2
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:40 am

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby Coach » Tue Feb 02, 2016 3:00 pm

3.1 files are here: https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=2 ... file%2czip

C4TUT2W1.DWG is for CDS.
User avatar
Coach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12121
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 am

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby lettej2 » Thu Feb 04, 2016 6:30 am

I have the new NCARB software installed (so I can't use the alternates) and I do not have access to another machine (64bit) for alternate practice tests. I was hoping to just see a clean floor plan of the 3.1 Vignette (unbiased without other people's solutions), so I could practice by hand. Thank you.
lettej2
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:40 am

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby Coach » Thu Feb 04, 2016 6:21 pm

That's a cad file. Download and use as you please.
User avatar
Coach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12121
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 am

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby lynn2000 » Wed Mar 02, 2016 12:16 pm

lixo wrote:Hi,
I couldn't find an answer for this. Is there a place where I can download the 3.1 version of the software so I can practice alt vignettes? I got the dwg files from the previous post (thanks!) but no software to run them.


Same question, where to find 3.1 version software? Thanks!!
lynn2000
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 2:54 pm

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby Coach » Wed Mar 02, 2016 1:13 pm

User avatar
Coach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12121
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 am

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby lynn2000 » Wed Mar 02, 2016 5:55 pm

I used 4.0 version software and replaced C4TUT3W1.dwg with C4TUT2W1.dwg, also changed the name to C4TUT3W1.dwg from C4TUT2W1.DWG, but it just didn't work. Did I miss anything, please help!!
lynn2000
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 2:54 pm

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby lynn2000 » Wed Mar 02, 2016 5:59 pm

Coach wrote:http://web.archive.org/web/20130413011310/http://www.ironwarrior.org/ARE/_NCARB_Software/3_1/


It shows it doesn't exist when you try to download it.
lynn2000
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 2:54 pm

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby Coach » Wed Mar 02, 2016 6:46 pm

User avatar
Coach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12121
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 am

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby lynn2000 » Fri Mar 04, 2016 3:08 am

Coach wrote:Here you go:
http://1drv.ms/1VRwh7E


Thank you Coach but it just didn't work for me. It couldn't be installed on my 64bit computer then I tried an old lap, it just stopped at 99% self extracting. :( looks like I won't be able to practice this now.
lynn2000
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 2:54 pm

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby Coach » Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:09 pm

If you have the 4.0 software installed then use the 3.1 files like you would any other alt.
User avatar
Coach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12121
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 am

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby lynn2000 » Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:31 pm

Coach wrote:If you have the 4.0 software installed then use the 3.1 files like you would any other alt.


lynn2000 wrote:I used 4.0 version software and replaced C4TUT3W1.dwg with C4TUT2W1.dwg, also changed the name to C4TUT3W1.dwg from C4TUT2W1.DWG, but it just didn't work. Did I miss anything, please help!!


I did, but just don't know why it didn't work. I tried on both 64bit and 32bit laptops. Besides DWG file, is there any other file that needs to be replaced?
lynn2000
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 2:54 pm

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby Coach » Fri Mar 04, 2016 1:59 pm

If you opened the dwg in cad and saved it, it won't work. You'll have to download it again.
User avatar
Coach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12121
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 am

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby lynn2000 » Fri Mar 04, 2016 4:38 pm

Coach wrote:If you opened the dwg in cad and saved it, it won't work. You'll have to download it again.


:D I guess THAT was the reason!!! NOW it works!!! Thank you greatly, Coach!
lynn2000
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 2:54 pm

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby concepts » Fri Apr 29, 2016 10:28 am

MS OneDrive says the item does not exist or is no longer available.

Plz help? Coach? Anyone?
concepts
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:58 pm

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby Coach » Fri Apr 29, 2016 2:28 pm

Don't know why ms onedrive links keep breaking.

https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=2 ... file%2czip
User avatar
Coach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12121
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 am

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby concepts » Sat Apr 30, 2016 9:00 pm

Thank you, Coach!!
concepts
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:58 pm

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby chocolate » Thu May 12, 2016 8:54 am

http://web.archive.org/web/201503260214 ... r.org/ARE/[/quote]


Hi Coach,
The Software Link has been removed from the Iron Warrior Archive, Is there any other way I can get to the software to download it? I would like to do that so I can use the 3.1 practice vignette, as right now I only have cloud-based software.
Thanks!
chocolate
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 2:21 pm

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby Coach » Thu May 12, 2016 1:20 pm

User avatar
Coach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12121
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 am

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby Josh » Sat Aug 20, 2016 2:37 pm

Here’s how to run NCARBs software on Windows 10 using Windows XP Mode using virtual box VM.

[Completely free downloads, easy to install and set up. Run NCARB software without being forced to use their vpn for $10. Plus you can run version 3.1 and run different problem variations by swapping out two files in the NCARB folder]

Steps for setting up windows XP mode

1. Download windows xp mode here:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... px?id=8002
Download the file named WindowsXPMode_en-us.exe. It’s 470 mb.
[Download and install 7-Zip at http://www.7-zip.org] You’ll need it to unzip the windows XP mode. Download the exe for your operating system, for me and most likely you it’ll be the one that says it’s for 64-bit Windows x64.

2. Create a folder to unzip to on your C drive (ex. C:\Windows XP Mode)

3. Run 7zip, search/navigate to where you downloaded the WindowsXPMode_en-us.exe file (most likely in your downloads folder). Right click the WindowsXPMode_en-us.exe. Go up to “open inside.” Click on ‘sources’, then xpm. You should now be inside the following C:\Users\your pc name\Downloads\WindowsXPMode_en-us.exe\sources\xpm\ . Once inside the xpm file copy everything in that file to the folder you created in step 2 (C:\Windows XP Mode)

4. Rename one of the files you just copied in C:\Windows XP Mode. The file is VirtualXPVHD. Rename it to VirtualXP.VHD (add the period between XP and VHD. (if you already installed virtual box the icon should change to a box. If not it’ll change to a disk drive)

5. Run virtual box and click “new”. Name the operating system whatever you’d like ie Windows XP. Under Version select Windows XP (32bit).

6. In the next step set the Memory size to either the recommended or more if you have a lot of RAM in your pc (probably 512mb min though).

7. Next step select “Use an existing virtual hard disk” and navigate to C:\Windows XP Mode\VirtualXP.VHD. You should now have Windows XP Mode in the left panel of virtual box. Right click. Start.

8. It’ll look like windows is booting up/setting up for the first time because it is. You’re basically running a second pc on your machine. NOTE: most of the time your mouse may not work for the first few minutes of the install because the drivers haven’t been installed. Just use the TAB, Arrows, and Enter keys to set up the first few steps (like naming your pc, selecting your language etc).

9. The first time after you “install” windows xp in virtual box it’ll most likely go to a black screen or at least it did for me. Not to worry. Simply click Machine at the top and reset or ‘host+r’ (the host key is the ctrl button on the right side of the keyboard by default. Also to get mouse control click the little green or yellow mouse icon in the bottom right corner of the screen (right click for the various options).

Once you have everything set up you may think the resolution is so bad and the screen is so small… this is useless… and the mouse control is so annoying why do I have to hit the little mouse icon all the time and why do I have to hit the right control key to get back to my real desktop (ie get out of the virtual windows xp desktop). The answer is super simple. Just go to ‘Devices’ at the top of the virtual machine, navigate to ‘Insert Guest Additions CD image’ and install the guest add-ons which give you full screen resolution and much much better mouse control. Also, if you want to easily copy files for your desktop to the VM windows XP desktop simply go to Devices, shared clipboard, and change the setting to bidirectional. Also do this for ‘drag and drop’ (below shared clipboard). In my experience these setting only worked after I installed the guest additions as well.

You may have trouble getting your VM onto the internet without the guest additions too. However, windows XP sucks at doing most things, including internet explorer, etc. So just download whatever you need on your regular desktop and drag and drop or copy/paste to the VM desktop (including and most importantly what you’re reading these really long, boring instructions for: the NCARB exe for 4.0 and 3.1!)

Hopefully this works well for you!

Special note: when I change the dwg file out in either the 4.0 or 3.1 versions even though I changed the aut file too sometimes the program still wouldn’t load (the program instructions not the NCARB program itself). It’s not a huge deal since NCARB gives you the program for the 3.1 and 4.0 versions and they worked fine. For any other variations you can find online, just write down the requirements or alt tab to them. Also, if you do download dwg practice vignettes from the internet do not open them in autocad or they won’t work (at least if you save).
Josh
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2016 7:30 am

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby JWDesigns » Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:04 am

Are these correct choices for 3.1 duct / joist combinations ? Just as a note, below calcs are taken from TOP of light clearance ( 8") to the TOP of joist ?

1st = 52"
2nd = 44"
Meeting Room = 40"

Thanks
JWDesigns
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 6:26 pm

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby Coach » Wed Aug 31, 2016 3:58 pm

JWDesigns wrote:Are these correct choices for 3.1 duct / joist combinations ? Just as a note, below calcs are taken from TOP of light clearance ( 8") to the TOP of joist ?

1st = 52"
2nd = 44"
Meeting Room = 40"

Thanks

Correct.
User avatar
Coach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12121
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 am

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby man of 051200 » Fri May 12, 2017 5:47 pm

Coach wrote:
JWDesigns wrote:Are these correct choices for 3.1 duct / joist combinations ? Just as a note, below calcs are taken from TOP of light clearance ( 8") to the TOP of joist ?

1st = 52"
2nd = 44"
Meeting Room = 40"

Thanks

Correct.


While I see how these values are determined, the base file shows a duct between the corridor and the meeting room. Shouldn't the second floor roof have to be raised high enough to accommodate the duct clearance of the second floor (24") and the lighting clearance in the meeting room (8")? As a result the plenum in the second floor ceiling needs to actually much taller. See attached image. Note associated duct penetrating the wall circled in red which I believe is 32x24. (This condition is just clipped from view on the 3.1 NCARB answer, so no help there.) Otherwise the duct would either slice through the roof structure and be exposed to the outdoors, or would need to penetrate the load bearing wall below the finished ceiling of the Meeting Room and then rise up to the ceiling plenum...unless that's exactly why the walls flank the north and east faces of the supply duct?

Based on Coach’s response this deduction is wrong, but I don’t understand why. Would you please explain, Coach?
CDS-3_1-20170512-2-second-floor.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
man of 051200
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 1:10 pm

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby tyguli » Thu May 18, 2017 9:06 pm

Success in getting the 3.1 vignette to show up after downloading the software and following instructions, but the program for the vignette is no where to be seen. Can someone direct me to where I can get the program or troubleshoot my work? I replaced the .dwg and renamed it, but when i replace the C4TUT.AUT file, the software wont show me anything, not even the floor plan. If someone just sends me the parameters for the vignette alt 3.1, I wont worry about it.

Thanks!
tyguli
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 7:39 pm

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby Coach » Thu May 18, 2017 10:05 pm

User avatar
Coach
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12121
Joined: Wed May 23, 2012 2:08 am

Re: You must do the 3.1 vignette!

Postby man of 051200 » Sat May 20, 2017 3:18 pm

tyguli wrote:Success in getting the 3.1 vignette to show up after downloading the software and following instructions, but the program for the vignette is no where to be seen. Can someone direct me to where I can get the program or troubleshoot my work? I replaced the .dwg and renamed it, but when i replace the C4TUT.AUT file, the software wont show me anything, not even the floor plan. If someone just sends me the parameters for the vignette alt 3.1, I wont worry about it.

Thanks!


I believe the C4tut.AUT is just the instructions. Those can be found in the 3.1 NCARB instructions. Use Ironwarrior: http://www.ironwarrior.org/ARE/NCARB_Software(OLD)/
man of 051200
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 1:10 pm

Previous

Return to CDS - CONSTRUCTION DOCUMENTS & SERVICES

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests